top of page

Airing out your home

My thoughts on opening

them damn windows

_____

open a damn window already”




One of the easiest and quickest ways to breathe life into your living space is quite simple, and yet I have been surprised by how many people like to live in a bubble wrapped, sterile environment.


Open a damn window already.


I feel so stifled in any indoor environment and advocate for an open window year round – I would rather put on an extra layer than breath stale air! In the case of my office where for some reason the windows are permanently closed because SHOCK we cannot have FRESH air in here – I take regular walks outside to not only breathe better but to move my body. If smokers get regular breaks, I sure as hell will take them too.


Really I could end the post there but let me give you some quick thoughts on why fresh air is so important for our health and wellbeing. If you care about WHY your air quality sucks read on, if you don’t then stop here, open a window and be gone.



No. 1

In most cases the indoor air is more toxic than the outdoor air, even in large cities. Our furniture, carpets, cabinets and paints all leach toxins, so opening a window or two (ideally opposite each other to propose cross ventilation) helps create air circulation and flushes those built up nasties.


No. 2

Add to that usually highly toxic cleaning products and you have a stagnant, noxious and stale indoor air quality condition and it’s no wonder we feel tired and lethargic after long periods in these conditions.


No. 3

It lets the bugs in. YES IN. Stop freaking out. Dirt and bugs are good. Even my husband who is the biggest bubble boy in the world, literally the guy is allergic TO HIMSELF; will insist on open windows* and does not get any adverse effects from it, so none of this “I’m allergic to air” bs. We need these natural elements in our lives, live a little.

I was always – and still am to this day – the person who loves having all the doors and windows wide open, especially when driving. There is nothing worse in my opinion in what I call “fake air”. I cannot stand a room that is artificially temperature controlled, and hey; I understand that in most cases (especially in large commercial offices etc.) they need to be – it’s not freaking Fuji where its perfect weather year round- but when it is a small space like an apartment of house there really is no need (unless we’re talking extreme weather here) that we need to have the windows closed.


So if that is not enough to convince you to get some fresh air (I just had to take a walk around the block as my office suddenly felt SO STUFFY god damn it people let me open a window already) then I am not sure what is.


People that are connected to nature, who regularly walk amongst the trees and put their feet in the water seem to me at least, to be much happier and healthier people – so bring that connection to the outdoors into your home at every opportunity you can, and open your freaking windows.

* he likely does not know that dirt is coming in, but hey - he'll get over it. He needs the dust to make him stronger right?

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page