top of page

14 tips to help you feel amazing while travelling

Travelling is awesome, not so awesome? The toll it takes on your body, mind and soul. Here are 14 tips that I use to help you look and feel your best when you land

_____

YES. I am THAT person with the mask and the ear plugs sleeping the whole way though the flight. ”

tips to feel amazing when travelling



I love to travel, but hate the toll it takes on my body – from dry skin to a bloated tummy that looks like a seltzer seagull - it throws my whole system out of whack.

Given the long distance hauls that are often involved when you live on the other side of the world to your family (way to move to literally the furthest possible point in the world you idiot), you get used to trying different methods to minimize the stress on the body, mind and soul; as well as the best ways to avoid jet lag.

Here are the top tips for your next flight….


No. 1

Prepare your own food

This is an obvious one but easily one of the most critical to keeping yourself happy and nourished during the flight. I have always been wary of plane food since my sister used to work in airline catering (airline withheld but rhymes with Lontus) and warned me against the high salt and sugar content, the way its pre-cooked and packaged as well as the other additives they include to keep it “fresh”.


For shorter flights smaller snacks like fruits or nuts tends to get me through, but for the longer international legs I like to pack a wider variety like veggie sticks with a homemade dip (be sure to check with your local authorities about what is and isn’t permitted, I have definitely been left in disbelief when my “large volume” hummus is taken away from me by the TSA), mason jar salads with heartier fillings such as roasted sweet potato, roasted spiced chickpeas and quinoa or millet, nuts (soaked and activated is best), dates and dried fruit, chia puddings and homemade energy balls are always packed into a lunch box to tuck into when my body tells me its hungry.

No. 2

Drink that H2O

Start your hydration regime a few days before the flight. Avoid coffee and alcohol and ensure you are getting as much water as possible. I like to take a large stainless steel travel thermos with me to the airport full of filtered water, I obviously down this before passing through security - but once on the other side you will be able to fill it at a filtered water station (or in the lounge if you ask the staff nicely).


Flying is very dehydrating so ensure you drink up before you go, during the flight and when you land. When on board, the staff are always happy to refill your bottle and don’t be afraid of going to the bathroom too much, it’s better to be annoying to that one passenger you will never see again than land dried out and dehydrated with a headache.


To take it one step further if you are vata-predominant you may feel even more spaced out during times of travel and experience anxiety, irregular digestion and have trouble sleeping. Vata energy is exaggerated in the airplane cabin, so it is important to make choices to decrease it such as leaning towards warmer, more nourishing foods, avoided carbonated drinks and in generally eat lightly.

No. 3

Tea for days

When flying it is best to avoid all carbonated drinks and alcohol (more on that below), while you should be downing a heap of water from your own thermos, another addition to your arsenal is personal tea bags. I love to take a mixture of tea varieties to break up the flight. I prefer ginger tea which promoted healthy digestion as well as fenugreek which also helps with digestion.


If I am flying long-haul I like to take an additional thermos with slices of fresh ginger and some lemon slices which helps me sleep. This also helps me keep my sinus’s clear and breathing easy.

No. 4

Eat plenty of greens / detox a few days before

I ensure that the day before a flight I really pack in the greens. Start with a green smoothie for breaky, a large green salad with chickpeas and roasted sweet potato for lunch and some lightly steamed greens with brown rice for dinner. I find a really clean and green menu the day before ensures that I am nourished and allows me to eat lighter in-flight.


Also avoid caffeine, carbonated, high sugar content and alcoholic drinks a few days leading up to your flight. Replace these with water and teas and you will feel your skin thank you when you land. This will not negate your need to hydrate during your flight, but will help with dehydration levels when you land.

No. 5

Noise cancelling headphones

Easily my favorite travel companion is my Bose noise cancelling headphones, which are actual life savers. These superstars block out so much noise I can’t even hear my husband talking about whatever the hell it is he’s watching when he’s sitting right next to me (just nod and smile, nod and smile).


I sometimes don’t even listen to anything, I just have them on to block out noise and allow me to get some restful sleep.

No. 6

See No Evil, Hear No Evil: Eye mask and ear plugs

If you don’t own a pair of ear cancelling headphones, nor wish to, some good quality ear plugs will do the trick. I like these. I also find ear plugs are great for when you want to sleep and your earphones are just a little too bulky to allow that, so I like to carry both options.


As for an eye mask, this for me is a non-negotiable on international flights. I carry my own non-toxic 100% cotton mask that fits snuggly to my face and blocks out all light.


YES. I am THAT person with the mask and the ear plugs sleeping the whole way though the flight.

No. 7

Bundle Up

While I find I usually run at rather hot temperatures (Pitta dominance) I do find I get overly cold on flights, mainly due to the fact that the turn the temperature down to “freezing”. To combat this, I like to take a large scarf that I can wrap around me, use as a pillow or to cover my face. I also like to wear a hooded jumper so I can partially cover my face to create a little cocoon of privacy to sleep and reduce the disturbance of movement.


The other area of the body that needs to be kept warm is your feet. Have you ever noticed how icy cold it is at the floor of the plane? Try to keep your feet insulated from this with thick socks and some slip on shoes (I carry easy slip on’s in my carryon to wear to and from the bathroom and to stretch).

No. 8

I like to move it move it

My last overseas flight I did at least 4 stretching / yoga sessions in the rear of the plane and actually made some friends back there doing it. Do not be worried about annoying your fellow seat members (or take an aisle seat if you are) and ensure you move around every 2-3 hours (unless you are sleeping) if you can.


You want to keep your circulation moving to avoid swelling and cramps. One day we may even see stretching spaces or yoga rooms on a plane (probs already are just need to get myself out of economy to find them!).


If you cannot get up and move around as much as you’d like, try tensing and un-tensing your calf muscles for 10 min every hour. The calf is responsible to pumping blood to your upper body so doing in-seat calf raises keeps that body pumping.



No. 9

Meditate and breathe

Just as important to moving is meditating and breathing. I find this one of the most valuable tools to use when flying – it calms the body and mind.


For meditation, try practicing on takeoff and landing for around 15-20 min, then again during the flight. I like to download a guided meditation and sit peacefully for around 30 min. I usually do this after the first food service when the lights start to go down and everyone has stopped moving around and the energy calms. I will try to fit in two sessions over a 13-hour flight (LAX > SYD).


As for breathing, it seems obvious but given we are actually not really taught the importance nor HOW to breathe in regular life, it’s even more important in a plane cabin where the pressure at cruising altitude is around 8,000 feet – equivalent to being high up in the mountains – so just sitting and simply breathing in that environment can be challenging to our systems.


At high altitude, our breathing becomes labored as there is simply less oxygen in the air, this puts an added load on our systems that are working overtime trying to get the required amount of oxygen to our blood streams. Add to that the low level of humidity (generally below 15%) compared to an average and comfortable 35% at ground level and it’s no wonder we feel slightly spastic when we land.


I use Dr. Weil’s 4-7-8 breathing method on takeoff and before landing and simply focus on long, easy and deep breaths during the flight. Doing meditation really ensures that I remember this trick (as it’s so easy to forget, especially if watching movies) and keep my breathing a focus all flight.



No. 10

Spray it real good #saline

Once your nose’s mucus membranes dry out its all over for you as they can no longer filter bacteria and viruses (who just love hanging out on an airplane). Given the low humidity, flying is a constant battle of staying hydrated.


I actually found this tip by accident when I bought the wrong thing for my husband’s contact lenses (my bad but in fairness it did say ‘saline’ on it) at the airport and figured “I wonder what happens when I spray this in my nose” – as you do – and found it really help keep my nose and throat working how they should. I used it 6-8 times on the 13 hour flight and it worked great.



No. 11

Essential Oils

I like to avoid toxic perfumes and sprays at the best of time so when you are in a pressurized, low humidity confined space I prefer oils. I use lavender to fall asleep and peppermint to wake me up. A few little drops on the wrist and other pulse points, rub together and you’re done. Lavender also has the advantage of soothing nervous travelers.


No. 12

Keep it moist: pawpaw, coco butter & oil

I love a small tube of pawpaw or cocoa butter stick because it is such a multi-tasking tool. Pawpaw is an iconic Aussie product that is essentially Vaseline in drugs. I use it for everything from chapped lips, dry nose, small cuts on the hands, rashes and bug bites.


As for cocoa butter sticks (love the iconic Palmer’s which is available everywhere) for a eye and hand cream and a face moisturizer.


Coconut or sesame oils (in travel sized containers, well sealed) are perfect to help moisturize dry skin also.

No. 13

Melatonin

Melatonin is a naturally occurring hormone produced by out pineal gland in the brain. It is the compound that triggers our sleep and wake patterns (also called the circadian rhythms). Our internal body clock is thrown off by the fake lighting, time difference and pressure of air travel so that in turn, throws off our production of melatonin.


I find that when I get onto a long flight (12+ hours), I like to take 1 or 2 melatonin supplements to help put me to sleep. I find this helps a lot to avoid jet lag – the last few times I have flown NYC > SYD I have done so without issue. Always consult your doctor if you have issues or questions about this product.

No. 14

Adjust early

As soon as I get onto the plane I like to set my watch to the local time of my destination. This helps me get into the new time zone and I follow that for my meals and sleeping. I always find taking off at night helps a lot for reducing jet lag and getting into the destination time-zone easily.


Once you have set your watch, avoid calculating that the time is in your departure city, that will only make you realize what time it “should be” for your body. Adjust and adjust early. Once you land, unless it is the night time, try to slip straight into the time zone, so if you land at 8am after a 24-hour journey (typically what happens when you fly from NYC to Australia) stay awake for that day as normal and see the sunset before sleeping.



Most of the above recommendations are quite simple tweaks of approaches to travel many of you likely already do. Just by being aware of nourishing and caring for your body you will find that the effects of air travel will be reduced and if you are lucky will be so minor you will be stepping of a 24-hour flight with a spring in your step next time you take off!


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page